fbpx

Garofeu

After more than 25 years of absence, the Société de protection des forêts contre le feu (SOPFEU) is happy to announce the great return of a character that captured the imagination of a great many children during the 1980s. Garofeu, the proud little chipmunk, is back on duty at SOPFEU and will be the organization’s spokes-creature with children and families to promote forest fire prevention.

Knowing that young people are a vector for social change, SOPFEU wishes to contribute to training a new generation of responsible citizens about the use of fire. While targeting young people, the organization is also calling on parents to be models for their children. Throughout the 2020 season, a series of 12 vignettes presenting “Garofeu’s tips for the whole family” will be disseminated on social media. In addition, over the coming months, the SOPFEU prevention team will develop learning material for preschool and elementary school children.

GAROFEU’s history

Garofeu made a first public appearance on May 31, 1979, with the Minister of Lands and Forests of the era, Yves Bérubé, on the occasion of a banquet for the 40th anniversary of the Association forestière québécoise. The likable character then became the figurehead for prevention campaigns conducted by Conservation-Québec, an organization of the seven conservation agencies tasked with forest protection before the creation of SOPFEU.

Garofeu is a chipmunk, commonly referred to as an eastern chipmunk. This creature was chosen over all other animals because, of course, it’s adorable, but also because of its forest skills. The reputation of the chipmunk is beyond reproach. It is likeable and farsighted. It is often seen in the forest and has excellent conservation habits.

The name Garofeu was chosen following a competition organized by Conservation-Québec during which more than 10,000 suggestions were received. Young Marc Bérubé, from La Tuque, won the $100 promised by the Ministère des terres et Forêts.

Participate in the drawing contest

To mark the great comeback, Garofeu is launching a colouring contest for children 12 and under, aimed at promoting compliance with open fires prohibitions as well as the use of fireplaces with spark arrestors. Another goal is to present safe and environmentally friendly options for the burning of waste and green residues, which cause about 150 forest fires each and every spring.

Download Draw #1

Download Draw #2

Download Draw #3

Competition rules

This contest is open to all children in Québec aged 12 and under with the permission of a parent or guardian.

Each child can submit up to three different drawings, sent on three separate occasions.

Drawings and registration forms must be sent by email to courrier@sopfeu.qc.ca or by mail to Garofeu, 715, 7e rue de l’Aéroport, Québec (Québec) G2G 2S7.

Contest winners will be chosen by random draw among the drawings received by June 1, 2020 at 9 a.m.

A total of 75 children’s backpacks, worth $20 each, will be awarded by random draw among all entries. The draw will take place at SOPFEU’s head office, on June 2, 2020, at 3 p.m. The list of winners will be unveiled on SOPFEU’s Facebook page. Winners will be contacted by phone or email. They will receive their prize by regular mail.

The same child cannot win more than one prize. Children and grandchildren of SOPFEU personnel are not eligible.

A dispute regarding the organization or conduct of a publicity contest can be submitted to the Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux for a decision. A dispute regarding the awarding of a prize can be submitted only for the purpose of an attempt by the Régie to resolve it.

fbpx

Garofeu

Après plus de 25 ans d’absence, la Société de protection des forêts contre le feu (SOPFEU) est heureuse d’annoncer le grand retour d’un personnage qui a marqué l’imaginaire de nombreux enfants au cours des années 1980. Garofeu, le fier petit tamia rayé, reprend du service avec la SOPFEU. Il agira comme porte-parole de la Société auprès des enfants et des familles, afin de faire la promotion de la prévention des incendies de forêt.

Consciente que les jeunes sont un vecteur de changement social, la SOPFEU souhaite contribuer à former une nouvelle génération de citoyens responsables face à l’utilisation du feu. En s’adressant aux jeunes, la SOPFEU interpelle aussi les parents afin de les amener à être des modèles pour leurs enfants. Tout au long de la saison 2020, une série de douze vignettes présentant les « Astuces de Garofeu pour toute la famille » sera diffusée dans les médias sociaux. De plus, au cours des prochains mois, l’équipe de prévention de la SOPFEU développera du matériel pédagogique pour les enfants du préscolaire et du primaire.

L’histoire de GAROFEU

Garofeu a fait sa première apparition publique le 31 mai 1979, en présence du ministre des Terres et Forêts de l’époque, M. Yves Bérubé, et ce, à l’occasion du banquet du 40e anniversaire de l’Association forestière québécoise. Le sympathique personnage devenait ainsi la figure de proue des campagnes de prévention menée par Conservation-Québec, un organisme regroupant les sept sociétés de conservation chargées de la protection des forêts avant la création de la SOPFEU.

Garofeu est un tamia rayé, communément appelé suisse. Il avait été choisi de préférence à tout autre animal à cause, bien sûr, de sa frimousse adorable, mais aussi en raison de ses qualités en forêt. La réputation du tamia est irréprochable. Il est sympathique et prévoyant. On le voit souvent en forêt et il a d’excellentes habitudes de conservation.
Son nom avait été déterminé à l’issue d’un concours organisé par Conservation-Québec au cours duquel plus de 10 000 suggestions avaient été reçues. C’est le jeune Marc Bérubé, de La Tuque, qui avait remporté le 100$ promis par le ministère des terres et Forêts.

Participez au concours de dessin

Pour marquer son grand retour, Garofeu lance un concours de dessins à colorier pour les enfants de 12 ans et moins. Ce concours vise à promouvoir le respect des interdictions de faire des feux à ciel ouvert, ainsi que l’utilisation de foyers munis de pare-étincelles. Il vise également à présenter des options sécuritaires et écologiques aux brûlages de rebut et de résidus verts, qui causent quelque 150 incendies affectant la forêt chaque printemps.

Téléchargez le dessin #1

Téléchargez le dessin #2

Téléchargez le dessin #3

Règlements du concours

Ce concours s’adresse à tous les enfants du Québec de 12 ans et moins. L’un des parents ou le tuteur doit avoir donné son autorisation.

Chaque enfant peut soumettre jusqu’à trois dessins différents, transmis par le biais de trois envois distincts.

Les dessins et les formulaires d’inscription doivent être envoyés par courriel à l’adresse: courrier@sopfeu.qc.ca ou par la poste à l’attention de: Garofeu, 715, 7e rue de l’Aéroport, Québec (Québec) G2G 2S7.

Les gagnants du concours seront choisis par tirage au sort parmi les dessins reçus d’ici le 1er juin 2020, à 9 h.

75 sacs à dos pour enfants, d’une valeur de 20$ chacun, seront attribués par tirage au sort parmi tous les participants. Le tirage sera fait au siège social de la SOPFEU, le 2 juin 2020 à 15 h. La liste des gagnants sera dévoilée sur la page Facebook de la SOPFEU. Les gagnants seront contactés par téléphone ou par courriel. Leur prix leur sera acheminé par la poste.

Un même enfant ne peut gagner plus d’un prix. Les enfants et petits-enfants du personnel de la SOPFEU ne sont pas éligibles.

Un différend quant à l’organisation ou à la conduite d’un concours publicitaire peut être soumis à la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux afin qu’il soit tranché. Un différend quant à l’attribution d’un prix peut être soumis à la Régie uniquement aux fins d’une intervention pour tenter de le régler.